The Virtues and Vices in the Arts

The Virtues and Vices in the Arts

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

The seven deadly sins are pride, envy, anger, sloth, gluttony, greed, and lust. The seven virtues are prudence, fortitude, temperance, justice, faith, hope, and love. This book brings all of them together and for the first time lays out their history in a collection of the most important philosophical, religious, literary, and art-historical works. Starting with the Greco-Roman and Judeo-Christian antecedents, this anthology of source documents traces the virtues-and-vices tradition through its cultural apex during the medieval era and then into their continued development and transformation from the Renaissance to the present. This anthology includes excerpts of Plato's Republic, the Bible, Dante's Purgatorio, and the writings of Friedrich Nietzsche and C. S. Lewis. Also included are artworks from medieval manuscripts; paintings by Giotto, Veronese, and Paul Cadmus; prints by Brueghel; and a photograph by Oscar Rejlander. What these works show is the vitality and richness of the virtues and vices in the arts from their origins to the present. You can continue this book's conversation by visiting http: // There you can join conversations, find out more, and meet other scholars and artists interested in this vibrant tradition.conSTellaTionS as a kid I was always frustrated by constellations. ... It really takes quite an imaginative leap to outline figures from the vast array of stars. and of course those shapes are not actually a€œwritten in the starsa€ but are our ownanbsp;...

Title:The Virtues and Vices in the Arts
Author:Shawn R. Tucker
Publisher:Wipf and Stock Publishers - 2015-01-22


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming