The Novels of Jeanette Winterson

The Novels of Jeanette Winterson

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

This Reader's Guide brings together, in an approachable form, the range of review and critical material on the novels of Jeanette Winterson. Covering all of Winterson's work, from Oranges are Not the Only Fruit to The PowerBook, Merja Makinen traces the early review reception of each novel on its publication and considers it alongside the larger critical debates that have subsequently evolved. Makinen follows the controversial critical analysis of Winterson as a lesbian writer, and develops the examination of the postmodern aspects of her work, whether as postmodern or post-Modern. Including a brief discussion of Winterson's most recent novel, Lighthouse Keeping, this is an indispensable guide for anyone studying, or simply interested in, the work of one of Britain's most successful contemporary authors.Its fragmented and multiple narratives, which echo and pastiche a variety of different narrative styles from the Bible to fairy tales, along with its fantasy use of the orange demon, constitute a complex postmodern text. The number of critics thatanbsp;...

Title:The Novels of Jeanette Winterson
Author:Merja Makinen, Nicolas Tredell
Publisher:Palgrave Macmillan - 2005-04-21


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming