The Minor Marshallians and Alfred Marshall

The Minor Marshallians and Alfred Marshall

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

Alfred Marshall, Professor of Economics at Cambridge University (1885-1908), produced a distinguished a distinguished crop of students, many of them leaders in the economics profession in subsequent generations. Pigou, Keynes and Denis Robertson are undoubtedly the most famous of these Marshall a€˜pupilsa€™ but there were many more, even if more minor forces in the development of early twentieth century economics. This book intends to examine the major work of ten of these a€˜minora€™ Marshallians a€“ Sydney John Chapman (1871-1951), John Harold Clapham (1873-1946), Charles Ryle Fay (1884-1961), Alfred William Flux (1867-1942), Frederick Lavington (1881-1927), Walter Thomas Layton (1884-1966), David Huchinson MacGregor (1827-1953), Joseph Shield Nicholson (1850-1927), Charles Percy Sanger (1871-1930) and Gerald Francis Shove (1888-1947), to name them in alphabetical order. The broad aim of this book is to evaluate the more important contributions of these a€˜minora€™ Marshallians by selective examination of their major economic work. That evaluation has at least two dimensions. First, it focuses on the significance of the authora€™s individual contributions to the development of twentieth century economic thought. Secondly, it attempts to assess the Marshallian credentials of these contributions in order to indicate how Marshallian in their economics these a€˜pupilsa€™ of Marshalla€™s economics teaching actually stayed.An early student of Marshallat Cambridge a€” later quite critical of Marshall and his economics Joseph Shield Nicholson ... In1877, Nicholson won the Cambridge Cobden Cluba#39;s Essay Competition withthe contribution, TheEffects of Machineryanbsp;...

Title:The Minor Marshallians and Alfred Marshall
Author:Peter Groenewegen
Publisher:Routledge - 2013-03-01


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming