Prize Stories 2001

Prize Stories 2001

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

Established early in the last century as a memorial to O. Henry, throughout its history this annual collection has consistently offered a remarkable sampling of contemporary short stories. Each year, stories are chosen from large and small literary magazines, and a panel of distinguished writers is enlisted to award top prizes. The result is a superb collection of seventeen inventive, full-bodied stories representing the very best in American and Canadian fiction. And in celebration of this distinguished literary form, Prize Stories 2001 a Special Award for Continuing Achievement is presented to Alice Munro. FIRST PRIZE MARY SWAN The Deep SECOND PRIZE DAN CHAON Big Me THIRD PRIZE ALICE MUNRO Floating Bridge FRED G. LEEBRON That Winter T.CORAGHESSAN BOYLE The Love of My Life JOYCE CAROL OATES The Girl with the Blackened Eye DAVID SCHICKLER The Smoker ANTONYA NELSON Female Trouble ELIZABETH GRAVER The Mourning Door PICKNEY BENEDICT Zog-19: A Scientific Romance RON CARLSON At the Jim Bridger LOUISE EDRICH Revival Road WILLIAM GAY The Paperhanger DALE PECK Bliss MURAD KALAM Bow Down GEORGE SAUNDERS Pastoralia ANDREA BARRETT Servants of the MapIta#39;s a big Ford F-250 diesel that he is driving, and ita#39;s got a hinky clutch. The two shovelheaded dogs in the bed of the truck bark hysterically. On Zog-19a#39;s planet, there are no cars and trucks with manual transmissions. There are no motoranbsp;...

Title:Prize Stories 2001
Author:Larry Dark
Publisher:Anchor - 2013-07-17


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming