An Analytical Study on Performance Practices

An Analytical Study on Performance Practices

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

In this collection of academic essays, award-winning pianist and music professor Yaokun Yang shares her carefully compiled analyses of classical music and aesthetics during several different periods, focusing particularly on the aspect of piano performance practice. Yang, who devoted six years to her research, offers extensive commentary, historical background, and comparisons of varied composers and their music. The pieces she studies include Beethovena€™s piano sonatas, an advanced piano teaching series, the development of opera in different areas, Bacha€™s Brandenburg concertos, Haydna€™s piano sonatas, the Bach-Busoni Chaconne, Brahmsa€™s Intermezzo, Olivier Messiaena€™s Vingt regards sur la€™enfant-JAcsus, Prokofieva€™s piano sonatas, Weberna€™s Six Pieces for Large Orchestra, and Schumanna€™s Piano Concerto. With this collection of analyses, Yang hopes to provide information and commentary to help contemporary pianists recognize the beauty and the challenges of performing different musical styles in appropriate ways.The a#39;EsterhAizya#39; Sonatas, Hob. XVI: 21-6, and the six sonatas of a#39;anno 1776a#39;, Hob. XVI: 27-32, in particular, contain occasional passages which, while certainly not proving that a double-manual instrument was intended, are undoubtedly easieranbsp;...

Title:An Analytical Study on Performance Practices
Author:Yaokun Yang
Publisher:AbbottPress - 2014-02-20


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming